Smooth Transition Regressions in CATS

A forum for questions and answers regarding the CATS cointegration procedure

Smooth Transition Regressions in CATS

Unread postby KOBE24 » Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:13 am

Hello,

I am relatively new to CATS, so I would like to know if one can use this package to estimate a smooth transition model
à la Franchi - Ordonez (2008) "Common smooth transition trend-stationarity in European unemployment" Economics Letters.

Here I attach the link to the article.

Thanks a lot!

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_o ... archtype=a
KOBE24

Re: Smooth Transition Regressions in CATS

Unread postby moderator » Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:27 pm

The link you provided doesn't work, so I can't comment on the specifics of the paper you were trying to reference.

However, the CATS procedure itself isn't set up to handle any sort of STAR model.

I suppose you could consider modifying the CATS code to do so, but that would be extraordinarily complicated. I think you'd be much better off just writing the appropriate code directly. We do discuss STAR models in the RATS User's Guide, and you'll find more discussions here on the forum.

Also, our structural breaks and switching models course covered threshold models. You can now purchase the materials from that course for $50. See:

http://www.estima.com/courses_completed.shtml

Regards,
Tom Maycock
Estima
Site Admin

Unread postby KOBE24 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 7:11 am

Thanks alot, Tom: great!

I will first check the User's guide, then go to the course you mentioned.

Best and thanks again!
KOBE24

Unread postby RonBacardi » Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:18 pm

Hi,

I am using the code in the users guide to perform STAR models in RATS. I use as my transition variable the first lag of the dependent variable and I also include in the model an exogenous variable.