WinTD
WinTD

In addition to frequent File>Save operations to keep an up-to-date permanent version of the tournament, you should get in the habit of doing regular backups of your tournament files. WinTD itself keeps an automatic backup for dealing with the possibility of computer or software crashes, but that system isn't perfect and also doesn't help overcome problems due to human error (for instance, mistakenly overwriting a tournament file).

 

Do not use File>Save As... to make a backup. The standard practice in menu-driven programs is that File>Save As... replaces the working file name so if you do File>Save As... and name it round1, all subsequent operations will be under the round1 name. Instead, use File>Copy Tournament To... which makes a copy of the file under a different name leaving the original file as it is.

 

A good practice is to do a backup at least once a round, either before you pair or after. In Getting Started: A Worked Example, we recommend a practice of making backups called round1.ptoz, round2.ptoz, ... Note that once the tournament is finished and successfully saved, you should be able to delete those files.

Automatic Backups

WinTD creates an automatic backup for the current tournament file which copies an update of the file after any major change (such as adding a player, pairing a round, etc.) When the tournament file is saved successfully (either by File>Save or by a save as part of a controlled exit of the program), the file is deleted. If the program or computer crashes, that file will still be present. This file is named WinTDBakZ.$$$ (or WinTDBak.$$$ if you are using an old format PTO file) which you will see in your default WinTD directory when you are actively using a tournament.

 

When you next start up the software, if WinTD finds the backup file, you will be prompted with the message: "Backup File Found. Should I Open It?". Unless you know that the situation is under control, you should probably answer yes. This will open the last of the automatic backups, but will be titled simply "Restored from backup". It will be up to you to figure out what it is and what name you should use in saving it.

 

As a final possibility for dealing with crashes or errors, the last automatic backup file will be in the Recycle Bin (Windows) or Trash (Macintosh).

 


Copyright © 2026 Thomas Doan